Finding True Serenity

discover. learn. dream. love. share.

Natural Home October 9, 2008

 

Well, after giving up many disposables and replacing them with reusable items we then gradually went to cleaning supplies.  I grabbed a crate and filled it up with all the cleaning supplies and gave them away.

I have to admit this wasn’t a hard one for me to do.  I was one of those people that would get migraines from using bleach, would need to have the windows open and ventilation fans on whenever I was trying to clean and could feel the chemicals burning my skin as I scrubbed away the germs. 

I still to this day can’t believe how many cleaners I had.  We had one for every job and needless to say that cleared up alot of space under the sinks!  We now truly only use a few natural cleaning ingredients.  You can learn more about their uses here, and an even more lengthy list of natural cleaners here.  Vinegar is our standard cleaner that has replaced everything! For windows, we use straight white vinegar and wipe with newspapers. For scrubbing the counter, sinks, tubs, and toilet, I use vinegar with a washcloth.  You could also use baking soda and play with essential oils.  Tea tree oil is known for it’s natural anti-bacterial power and lavender for it’s calming scent.  For a multipurpose cleaner we just fill a spray bottle 1/4 way with white vinegar and then top it off with water.  This is a very simple, basic, and highly effective concoction!

I use a natural soap for washing dishes and I also make a homemade laundry detergent using natural cleaners.  There are lots of recipes out there, but this is one that seems to work for us. 

Powdered Laundry Detergent

1 Cup Grated Fels Naptha Soap
1/2 Cup Washing Soda
1/2 Cup Borax
(For light load, use 1 tablespoon.  For heavy or heavily soiled load, use 2 tablespoons.)
I love how simple this has made our lives.  We’re not out buying all sorts of different products to “clean” our home.  I love the fact that I feel completely comfortable having Jonathan and Shian help me with cleaning.  And by using natural ingredients you will not only be making inexpensive cleaners (I’m saving an estimated $185 annually), you will also realize they are just as effective without the light headed, sick to your stomach, migraine side effects!  🙂
 

Leave a Reply

