Finding True Serenity

discover. learn. dream. love. share.

A lovely day of homemade goodness… January 16, 2009

Today was one of those days when I felt really good about what I’ve accomplished.  Here here, be easy on me!  I have pretty low standards!  🙂

This morning I woke up, hung up a load of laundry to dry, fixed the kids some breakfast, got my son out the door for school and started working with my daughter on the alphabet and identifying objects/animals. 

Hanging Clothes

I had received a recipe, from a lovely blogger who inspires me everytime she posts, for Easy Oatmeal bread.  Today was the day I worked up enough nerve to try making homemade bread for the very first time!  I followed the recipe to a “T” and waited the longest 2.5 hours of my life!  It was amazing torture!  Smelling the dough, drooling and praying it turned out as good as it smelled! 

 The dough has risen to double it's size

Prepared dough is ready to be baked

)

We pulled the first loaf out of the oven and it was all we could do to wait for it to cool down enough to pull it out of the pan!  We all lined up and enjoyed the first warm slices.  It was perfect.  Miranda, I can’t thank you enough…my husband adored it, and that is saying something!  🙂

Going back for seconds and thirds!!!

For lunch today we ate some homemade tomato soup I had canned this last summer while one of our amazing neighbors was teaching me the art of preserving!  My husband filled up on more bread!

I washed a load of dishes and began working on supper, we threw some things together from an idea of another fellow blogger, Sara.  She’s quite clever!  We started with Ramen noodles, some pork, brocolli, ginger, garlic, orange juice, and nama shoyu stir fried together…. and oh it was yummy.  After supper, my husband leaned over and kissed me while whispering sweetly “…good job honey”….

I feel quite accomplished with all the baby steps I’ve been learning to become more self sufficient.   I am humbled but I also realize I need to keep an open mind because there are so many more things I have to learn!  For now though, I’m going to savor this lovely day of homemade goodness….

 

Leave a Reply

